LLM with a PGDL at different universities

pleasedtomeetya

Apr 16, 2024
Hello everyone,
I'd like to get a second opinion on what seems to me a solution to my current predicament. I am an international student with a bachelor's degree from a civil law country. I have applied to study an LLM program at a RG university, and got an offer.

The LLM is niche, I would say, and aligns with what I am doing now and planning to do in the future. At the same time, I would like to try to get into UK law firms. No MC ambitions, but I really want to transfer from my current in-house role to a firm as it looks more fulfilling to me now.

I know the general sentiment here and in many other forums is that LLMs are almost useless for TCs or job applications.

Nevertheless, I would really like to do the LLM I applied for, I am very aligned with the courses and it allows networking and even a chance to get QWE (which, I believe, would be harder to secure if I was on a self-funded PGDL). Thus, I came up with a plan to enrol in said LLM but at the same time enrol in a PGDL online course by UoL or BPP. I have checked the solution with UoL, they told me it was doable, BPP wasn't so sure.

Why do I want to do all at once? It's more of a psychological issue, but I feel like I'm on the clock. I'm in my late 20's, and I don't feel that I have 2 years to do both things while staying unemployed or not even trying to secure a job. I could just do an LLM and go on with my in-house stuff, but I do not feel like getting anywhere beyond "we'll get outside counsel do this" and stretching my area of responsibilities to blunt project management.

What do you think? Am I out of my mind for even thinking that this is manageable, am I missing something? Would be grateful for any type of feedback.

Last edited:

About Us