• Hey Guest, check out Andrei's new guide to building a winning law firm application strategy here. Good luck this cycle :)

applying for vac Schemes to TC Dreams

hush-hush

Premium Member
Jul 13, 2024
Hey everyone!

a little bit about me - I'm an international student and graduated from a non-Russell group university in London (can you guess?) with high merit in LLB Law honours. My current stage is studying the LLM Legal Practice (SQE 1&2) starting this September, and I'm self-funding it.

I have never actually fully applied for vac schemes - don't get me wrong, I've tried to get myself to apply, and I've done a lot of research, but call it imposter syndrome - I just haven't been able to send in applications because I don't want to deal with rejection possibly😖

When talking about legal work experience - I actually have done a quiet 4 legal internships through the past three years of law school during my winter/summer breaks but in my home country - which is an international hub. Additionally I had volunteered all through second and third year of law school at a legal clinic - which technically does qualify as "qualifying work experience" but its too short of period to be considered. While I haven't applied for vac schemes, I have attended several open days and was a campus ambassador for a law-adjacent company and a brand ambassador for another. I have also just been selected for the Baker McKenzie and AS mentorship programme starting soon🤞 + I'm also currently on the ASPIRE programme to get ahead this year.

This is my last year to apply for vs/tc's before I have to leave the country + I'm also doing the sqe which adds even more pressure. I know that I can stay for two more years through the graduate visa but currently I'm not sure if that is something I would invest in, I do prefer staying in London so I'm for sure considering it but more so as a last option.