• Hey Guest, check out Andrei's new guide to building a winning law firm application strategy here. Good luck this cycle :)

SQE Self-fund and Visa issues

aspiringcatsolicitor

Star Member
Jun 19, 2023
Hi there,

I have just finished my second year of uni and am about to go to my third year. I have obtained a low 2:1 which I think will not be strong enough to secure a VS/TC hence I am looking to apply for vac schemes after I graduate.

As an international student, my question is, should I self-fund the SQE and hope to get a TC while studying or take a year off for VS applications on a graduate visa?

On that note, to do the SQE, will I need a student visa and do law firms absorb that cost?

I would appreciate any advice! I don't know many international students on the same route as I am.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi there,

I have just finished my second year of uni and am about to go to my third year. I have obtained a low 2:1 which I think will not be strong enough to secure a VS/TC hence I am looking to apply for vac schemes after I graduate.

As an international student, my question is, should I self-fund the SQE and hope to get a TC while studying or take a year off for VS applications on a graduate visa?

On that note, to do the SQE, will I need a student visa and do law firms absorb that cost?

I would appreciate any advice! I don't know many international students on the same route as I am.
You will typically be on a student visa if the course you are on is a post-graduate diploma or masters level course. For some of the SQE prep courses that do not have an accredited level of qualification attached to them (Level 5, 6 or & qualifications), you would need the right to work in the UK. However, many future trainees on such courses are doing so on their post-study visa if they do not have an automatic right to work in the UK.