Some advice for an international student in the UK

lawgrad2024

Jun 10, 2024
Hi everyone, I'd just like some advice and an international perspective on how to move forward with my law career.

I am about to get my BA LLB degree from a top 6 law school in India with First Class Honors. I am also an upcoming Masters student at QMUL to pursue my interests in International Dispute Resolution. I am pursuing this LLM mostly due to my interests and I also partially had hopes for working in the UK.

Please do not judge me when I say that I had a very rude awakening a few days ago when I realized that firms in the UK need you to apply 2 YEARS in advance for training contracts and the 2026 cycle is nearing its end. Most applications have closed for 2026 save a very few and I read several stories about how competitive TCs can get and with my 0 prep I don't stand a chance for 2026. It isn’t this way in India and I did not foresee this at all. I just wanted to somehow get qualified in the UK, with my SQE costs covered as I cannot ask my parents to bear more costs for my education, and perhaps return to the UAE, where I hold a residence visa with my family. I would have loved to return to the UAE right after my LLM however nobody in the UAE really wants to hire a law grad with no qualifications. They prefer lawyers with a few years of PQE under their belt (and I sadly did not take Arabic seriously enough in school, I can read and write but lack basic conversational skills).