• Hey Guest, leading international law firm BCLP is live right now in the forum! This is a perfect opportunity to ask any questions you have to the recruitment team. Ask a question here!

How to write about retail experience on vac scheme application

LH06

May 24, 2024
Hi everyone,
I am currently writing vac scheme applications and for the work experience section, I'm not sure how to write about my retail experience. I have been working at a grocery store in my home country for 5 years. Im just struggling how to word this into a paragraph. I work in the produce section so I want to focus on things like attention to detail skills for having to monitor freshness etc.
thanks!

Andrei Radu

Legendary Member
Staff member
Future Trainee
Gold Member
Premium Member
Sep 9, 2024
Hi everyone,
I am currently writing vac scheme applications and for the work experience section, I'm not sure how to write about my retail experience. I have been working at a grocery store in my home country for 5 years. Im just struggling how to word this into a paragraph. I work in the produce section so I want to focus on things like attention to detail skills for having to monitor freshness etc.
thanks!
Hey @LH06, I think the structure you should employ is the usual STAR:
  • Situation: Explain in one or two sentences what was the context in which you started this job. You can consider discussing any steps in an application process, the reasons which prompted you to apply for the role, how that fitted in your schedule with your other responsibilities etc.
  • Tasks: here, I would just lay out the main responsibilities of your role, with a focus on what you had to do individually even if it was part of a team effort.