• Hey Guest, check out Andrei's new guide to building a winning law firm application strategy here. Good luck this cycle :)

Could Someone Give me Advice on Transitioning from a Regional Firm to a Corporate Law Firm?

Elizashahh

Sep 4, 2024
Hello there,

I am an associate at a well regarded regional law firm; where I have been practicing corporate law for about three years. While I have gained solid experience in mergers and acquisitions; commercial contracts, and corporate governance; I have been considering making the leap to a larger, top-tier corporate law firm to further develop my career and work on higher profile; more complex transactions.

I have been exploring firms in the Magic Circle and other leading international firms but am concerned about how my regional experience will be perceived. I also want to ensure that I am fully prepared for the demands and expectations at these larger firms.

How can I best position my regional experience when applying to larger firms? Should I emphasize the broad exposure I have had at my current firm, or should I focus on any particular niche skills that might align with the work at top-tier firms?

Also, I have gone through this post; https://www.thecorporatelawacademy.com/forum/threads/career-progression-at-regional-mlops-law-firms.8980/ which definitely helped me out a lot.

What should I expect in terms of cultural and operational differences between a regional firm and a large international firm? I have heard that the workload and hours can be significantly more intense; but are there other aspects of the transition I should be mindful of?

Thanks in advance for your help and assistance.

Amma Usman

Star Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Sep 7, 2024
Hello there,