Applying after suspending studies

rocky123

Premium Member
Oct 5, 2024
Hi,

I'm an undergrad non-law student at Cambridge. In April I was forced to intermit before I could take my 2nd year exams after discovering I had a chronic health condition. I'll be returning in January, still technically in 2nd year, but obviously without an academic result from the 2023-2024 year.

Should I bother applying for summer vacs this autumn? For context I did extremely well in my 1st year (ranked in top 5 of ~200), but I have nothing from 2nd yr.

Amma Usman

Valued Member
Staff member
Future Trainee
Gold Member
Premium Member
Sep 7, 2024
Hi @rocky123 ,

Thank you for sharing your situation, and I’m really sorry to hear about what you’ve been through. I hope you’re feeling much better now. Given your impressive first-year results, I definitely think it’s worth applying for vacation schemes this autumn. You can address the gap in your application by explaining the mitigating circumstances surrounding your second year, which should be understandable to firms.

Since you're a non-law student, just ensure you’re checking the eligibility criteria carefully. Some firms welcome applications from second-year non-law students, while others might only consider non-law students in their final year or beyond.

Best of luck, and if you need any further advice, feel free to ask!

@Jessica Booker will have more thoughts on this as well.

Reactions: rocky123

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi @rocky123 ,

Thank you for sharing your situation, and I’m really sorry to hear about what you’ve been through. I hope you’re feeling much better now. Given your impressive first-year results, I definitely think it’s worth applying for vacation schemes this autumn. You can address the gap in your application by explaining the mitigating circumstances surrounding your second year, which should be understandable to firms.