• Hey Guest, check out Andrei's new guide to building a winning law firm application strategy here. Good luck this cycle :)

Anxious international girlie applies for training contracts and vac schemes

sapphireoreos

Standard Member
Feb 20, 2023
Hey! I've been lurking for a few months so I thought I'd start my own thread here. I know it's fairly early days for the application cycle, but I figured I could make this and update it over the year as a little diary to record the process in real time/to keep myself accountable on this journey. This is my second application cycle, and as an international student, I'm really anxious about not getting a TC by the end of the year because it basically means I get kicked out of the country otherwise. With final year, working part time, being in the executive committees for 3+ societies and working as a brand ambassador, I know that I'm going to be in the trenches over the next year or so, but I guess it's worth it if I get a TC at the end of it ...?

Background
  • I'm a final year non-law (History & International Relations) international student studying at a Top 5-10 uni (not RG though, you may be able to guess it based on that haha). I did all my pre-university education outside of the UK
  • I got A*A*A* in my A Levels and am currently on track for a strong first (fingers crossed it stays that way, if I convert my grades to percentages I think I'm on at 84%?)
  • In terms of my legal experience, I have completed two legal internships (one at a small high-street style family law firm, another at a bigger commercial litigation firm) and am about to complete my third internship at an U.S. firm in investment funds (all of these internships have been in my home country)
  • My non-legal experience includes working as a senior student ambassador, a brand ambassador for a law-adjacent company, am a student rep for my university's union (I don't want to specify for anonymity's sake) and editing for two student journals