5 vac schemes and no TC, red flag?

qvhe

Aug 6, 2024
I am an international student studying in the UK. During the past year, I've done five vac schemes in my home country at UK and US firms. However, I failed to convert them into a TC either due to minor slip-ups in a task/exit interview or not being social enough to make a strong impression (most associates and trainees I worked with gave really positive feedback on my work). The current market also means many firms have to cut their trainee intake.

I am planning to apply to vac schemes in the UK this cycle, and I was wondering whether the fact that I failed to covert multiple vac schemes is a major red flag. Should I only disclose two vac schemes (instead of all) to make my application look less alarming? How likely will firms ask why I failed to get a TC (overseas)? Any advice is appreciated.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I am an international student studying in the UK. During the past year, I've done five vac schemes in my home country at UK and US firms. However, I failed to convert them into a TC either due to minor slip-ups in a task/exit interview or not being social enough to make a strong impression (most associates and trainees I worked with gave really positive feedback on my work). The current market also means many firms have to cut their trainee intake.

I am planning to apply to vac schemes in the UK this cycle, and I was wondering whether the fact that I failed to covert multiple vac schemes is a major red flag. Should I only disclose two vac schemes (instead of all) to make my application look less alarming? How likely will firms ask why I failed to get a TC (overseas)? Any advice is appreciated.
You should include all the internships if the form allows you to do so (some restrict the number of entries you have).